Sacrificial Lamb

Sacrificial Lamb
Lifeless limbs, wanting eyes, exposed ribs, balloon belly,
I wish I could hug you,
Fill your body with warmth
And nurture you back to health
So your days can be filled with childish games.
But you are miles away in a different world.

You come into my life between reality shows.
Big Fat Loser, My Kitchen Sucks and You Drive Me Round the Block.
Eat, curse, hate.
You fill me with momentary guilt while I eat my chips and drink my coke.
I shall make a donation, one day.
I flick the channel and forget about you
Until the next time you interrupt my laze
And I once again reach for the remote.

This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

