Don’t Let Out The Dragon Part 2

“Don’t let out the dragon” That’s what I heard him say
“I provide for you every single day”
If I have a dragon within may it gain full flight,
For I long for the chance to read and to write.

Let the spirit rise above me.
Let the fire burn within.
Because if I could read the Holy Scriptures
I would know reading was not a sin.

Do not raise your hand to me
Put away the acid that burns
Because the dragon is coming out of me.
And freedom I will learn.

You can not crush my spirit.
You can not clip my wings.
I have an inner voice and it is time for it to sing.

This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

