By Chance

I go to places I hoped you might be
But chance meetings only happen by chance.
I check for emails that never arrive
I read books that might catch your eye
And remember how Warhol we did despise.

I relive the night you chose another
This chance meeting was not by chance.
I revisit conversations looking for clues to my demise.
I realise my fate was inevitable – as clear as the clear blue skies.
But I find it hard to say my goodbyes.

Perhaps we were not meant to be.
Just two ships passing in the sea.
But what I realise deep down inside
Is that I loved you and that was not a lie.
We met by chance, you and I.

This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

