Type Cast

Type Cast
You ask me for my CV
But it does not depict the essence of me.
It does not tell you that I desperately want
To change my life, change others’ lives, change the world.
Find a new direction
It does not tell you my life experiences, my losses, my joys,
My spirit, my triumphs, my anguish, my challenges,
My enduring persistence to carry on.
It does not tell you about my loyalty to husband,
To children and a sacrificed career.
Of regrets, disappointments, guilt or devotion,
Divorce and abandonment.
It does not tell you that I am worthy of this job.
I will learn. I will master. I will turn up. I will give my all.
What it tells you is to judge me by
My past mistakes, my age, the ancientness of my qualifications.
To throw me in the bin without even meeting me or knowing what
I look like or who I am.
Just a number not worthy of a reply
Based on a one dimensional dissection of “me”.

This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

